Xin: Pan-Asian Paradise in Madrid

by Faye Davies

Xin: Pan-Asian Paradise

While heaven might not look like Xin, I’m crossing my fingers that if I ever get there, the food will taste as good. I don’t have enough praise for this restaurant. While the decor and ambiance are distinctly average, the food is divine.

For me, the steamed dumplings and tom-yum soup crown the starters menu. As for mains, I heavily recommend the steamed sea bass with lime sauce – a dish I’ve seen reduce people to tears; but basically you can’t go wrong. The steak strips with sesame and coriander, and monkfish with coconut also evoke strong emotions.

For those who can’t face one of the homemade deserts, there’s an extensive tea menu; and a good range of Asian beers – including Asahi and Singha – for the more alcohol inclined.

A final cheer for the service: the staff here are so attentive that last night the waitress tipped an entire tray of drinks while reaching to pick up a scarf dropped by my sister.

Open daily. Tel: 91 446 5888. Average price for two-course dinner and drinks 25€, menu del día 9.75€.
Metro: Bilbao. Calle Manuela Malasaña, 5. See map below:

About Katie

Katie is an English teaching assistant working at a bilingual public school in the center of Madrid.
This entry was posted in Asian Food, Eating out & Madrid Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Xin: Pan-Asian Paradise in Madrid

  1. Colin Davies says:

    I have to disagree with you about Xin. It’s a terrible place and the last thing I would like to see is large numbers of new customers there spoiling my enjoyment of it.

  2. Pingback: Madrid Neighbourhoods: Malasaña - Still Putting the Mad in Madrid? - Notes from Madrid

Leave a Reply

